Sunday, July 11, 2010

astrology + yoga + art

Today I am thinking of the symbols that represent the elements we see in nature and astrology: earth, water, air, fire and how they link to one's yoga practice. Earth is the element belonging to Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn, as well as representing our body and our physical nature. Fire is the element belonging to Aires, Leo, Sagittarius, as well as representing our will, whose heat is contained by Air, and the signs Gemini, Libra and Aquarius.The atmosphere of our minds. We are nourished by the depths and rhythms of the oceans, our emotions and the rain, held within, Cancer, Scorpio and Picses which are then contained by the earth. The balanced interaction of these elements can be seen as nature (Spirit/Self). Our bodies communicate through our emotions. When balanced, we sense wholeness and connectedness with the centerpoint of our Selves. (The circle of Existence.)

The practice of yoga itself reflects the four elements: will (fire) is needed to carry out the discipline, to energize a sometimes sluggish body (earth) to perform postures and thereby shift, squeeze, damn up and then release the flow of fluids ( water) in union with the inner self (spirit). The asanas are the primary symbols created for the mind (air) to focus upon. The more awareness and skill the practitioner uses, the more the postures begin to take up both ends of the spectrum: lifted and grounded, forward facing and backward facing, ease and effort, of this world and not of this world.

Yogini: Tracy Hetherington

No comments:

Post a Comment